top of page

About us

Our church

St. Mark Coptic Orthodox Church in Englewood, Colorado was founded as one of the first four Coptic Orthodox parishes in the United States and was incorporated in December of 1971, with about 50 families at the time. As Pope Shenouda III was enthroned as the Coptic Pope on November 14 of that same year, this was the first Coptic church that was founded under the papacy of Pope Shenouda, who died March 17, 2012.

The current building was consecrated in October 1989 by Pope Shenouda on his second visit (the first one being in 1977), the same year where the Pope visited every Coptic parish in the US and Canada. The church has been served Fr. Yacob Soliman since 2004.

At this point, St. Mark's Church remains as the only Coptic church in Colorado. There are currently more than 100 Coptic families served by St. Mark's Church.

Our faith

The Coptic Orthodox Church is one of the most ancient Churches in the world, founded in the first century in Egypt by Saint Mark the Apostle and writer of the second Gospel of the New Testament. A conservative Church, it has carefully preserved the Orthodox Christian faith in its earliest form, handing it down through generations, remaining true to the Apostolic doctrines and patterns of worship. The Church’s spiritual approach emphasises holiness, Divine Mysteries and fellowship, rooted firmly in the canons of the Holy Scriptures, the apostolic and Orthodox creeds, the teachings of the Church Fathers and the first three ecumenical councils

The Christian Church is based on the life and teachings of Jesus Christ, the eternal Son of God, Who came into the world as a man. This is the foundational belief of every Christian.


We also believe that the Holy Scripture is the divinely inspired Word of God (2 Timothy 3:16). It is the story in which God reveals His love for man throughout the history of mankind.


The Old Testament tells of the history of that revelation from Creation through the Age of the Prophets. It contains 39 books which are divided into five sections: the books of History, book of the Law, the books of poetry and Wisdom, and the books of prophesy).

The New Testament records the birth and life of Jesus Christ, sets forth the writings and works of His Apostles, and documents the history of the early Church. The New Testament books contain 27 main books, which were written from about 50 to 95 A.D.

our priest
Fr. Yacob Soliman
bottom of page